Cart 0

The Twins are here.

The Twins are real.

The Twins are right in front of you.

paradox - now available.

 
Twins Website Banner.jpg

Paradox

 

Book info

PARADOX is an inspiring re-imagination of 'A Christmas Carol.'

This page-turning adventure travels between present day and Victorian Britain, as a mysterious shadow flings Abrahams into an unknown but strangely familiar world. The place he calls home, London, has transformed itself into the living stories from Charles Dickens. But nothing is what it seems in this richly layered thriller.

Perfect for fans of James Patterson, Stephen King and Neil Gaiman - Paradox brings similar pace, imagination and brilliant characterisation to the page.



The Twins are here.

Twins Website Banner.jpg
Sketches Tour Header.jpg
 

The Paradox Sketches Tour

Over 180 years ago, Charles Dickens introduced the world to a collection of writings. It was called, 'Sketches by Boz'. Written under a pseudonym, he wanted the reader to hear his real-life adventure into a world within a world; a journey where he came face to face with THE TWINS.

As the years passed by, Dickens never forgot that journey. 'Sketches' lived on through his stories and tours. His book readings were more than a promotional tool. He encouraged people to share their observations about the hidden but visible world. To observe and not just see. And in the background, standing in the shadows were The Twins. His travelling companions. His guides and nightmares.

THE PARADOX SKETCHES TOUR is my attempt at following that Path.

Each event is bespoke, framed around the location and the people present. It is a place where conversations take place, sometimes over food or drink. The evening will begin with a brief, dramatic presentation about Paradox and the story behind it. A short reading follows before discussion about the themes raised.

There is no need beforehand for people to have read or purchased the book.

Paradox will be on sale during the evening. 

Download The Sketches Tour Info Sheet

 
 


Interested in hosting an event?

I would love to chat. You can contact me through the links below.

andy@andysmithyman.com

 
 

The Twins are here.

Twins Website Banner.jpg

Biography

 

Author.

Passionate about storytelling.

Captivated by imagination.

Inspired by mystery.

 

Andy Smithyman writes books and gives the odd talk. He has an interest in social justice with a coffee-stained Masters Degree in Narrative Theory. Driven by a passion for hearing the unheard voice, he is the author of a series of books examining the lesser-known stories behind cultural change - spoiler alert; it’s not always about the perfect hero.

Always seeking ways to imaginatively tell stories, in 2018 Andy finally fell down the rabbit hole, setting up a different kind of publishing company. This 'curiouser and curiouser' venture pushes the boundaries of bespoke print alongside ethical production, distribution and promotion.

Andy’s latest book is called PARADOX. This Fiction Social Thriller is a re-imagination of ‘A Christmas Carol’ set between the present day and Victorian Britain. Drawing upon how Dickens blended social commentary with fictional creativity, Paradox refocuses attention onto an inspiring movement of redemptive change happening all around us. But with a twist.

The accompanying tour redefines the format of book promotions. Set within homes and creative spaces, each event invites people to explore the world of Paradox in the present day, alongside the opportunity of quizzing the author in their writing process. It’s a unique experience.

Andy is also a story-telling alchemist to business and community ventures. This imaginative approach helps organisations express their authentic storyline. Drawing upon his eclectic years in the creative and business landscapes, Andy crafts a bespoke partnership for the client to achieve their goals. This could include project management, one-day workshops or long-term advisory roles.

 

Latest from The Journal



The Twins are real

Twins Website Banner.jpg

Subscribe

 
 
 

Other Books by Andy

Revivals Symphony

The history of the British Isles is rich with accounts of social transformation rooted in faith. Whilst remaining keenly aware that there are differing definitions and opinions regarding what constitutes “revival”, author and respected revival researcher/historian Andy Smithyman explores the threads common to all revivals and looks at how they subtly and seamlessly work together to create culture change.

Likening a revival to a musical symphony, Andy presents the individual “notes” that harmonise together to form the whole. From it we learn the essential ingredients that all dreamers of change must focus on - including some elements which may surprise some.

Extra Ordinary Miracles

Drawing from years of research into historic social transformation, Andy Smithyman turns the spotlight away from the characters that are so familiar to us and focuses on the lesser-known individuals who, through simple acts of devotion, were equally used to bring about change through faith.

This short collection of devotional-style readings for those of us who, at times, have wondered whether what we have to contribute is really that valuable.



The Twins are right in front of you.

Twins Website Banner.jpg